The seventh and final series of New Girl, recently renewed by Fox, will take place three years after the finale of series six.

According to New Girl star Zooey Deschanel’s website, ‘Hello Giggles’, the series will feature eight episodes (rather than the standard, which tends to be around twenty), all spread across a year in the life of Jess (Deschanel), Nick (Jake Johnson), Winston (Lamorne Morris), Schmidt (Max Greenfield) and Cece (Hannah Simone).


Having left series six with Nick and Jess finally getting together, Cece discovering that she’s pregnant, and Winston engaged to Ally (Nasim Pedrad), there are plenty of stories to wrap up in the final series, and the time jump and year-long duration will allow showrunner Liz Meriwether to give the show a worthy ending.

New Girl series seven is expected to air in Spring 2018.